1001

Main menu:Functions:
Chapter menu:
Page content:

18.5.17

Ventilation for corals: Symbiosis with damselfish brings great advantages for coral growth

Many stony corals live in close partnership with different species of damselfish. Reef ecologists from the Leibniz Centre for Tropical Marine Research (ZMT) in Bremen (Germany) have now taken a closer look at this symbiosis and discovered a previously unknown advantage for the corals. The fish support the corals in their photosynthesis, which is important for coral growth. The study has just been published in the Journal of Experimental Biology and was also featured in Nature Magazine’s research highlights.
 
Coral reefs are highly complex communities with multifaceted interrelations and dependencies, many of which are not yet thoroughly studied. The mutually beneficial symbiosis between clownfish and anemones is well known: the fish provide nutrients to their host while at the same time finding a place to hide from predators inside the anemone.
 
The same advantages are attributed to the symbiosis between damselfish and stony corals. It is strikingly noticeable, however, how tirelessly the damselfish flick their fins when they are hiding among the coral branches. They display this behaviour not just during the day, but also whilst sleeping at night.
 
Ecologist Nur Garcia-Herrera and her colleagues from the ZMT have studied this symbiosis in more details. In the Red Sea near Eilat (Israel) they observed the damselfish, Dascyllus marginatus, which frequently resides inside colonies of the branching Stylophora pistillata coral. “More than 30% of the fish’s time is spent among the coral branches”, explains Garcia-Herrera. “Often a dozen damselfish or more are gathering like a cloud above the football-sized coral.”

In the lab the scientists brought fish and corals together in a respiration chamber to measure respiration and photosynthesis rates. Garcia obtained some unexpected results: Even a single damselfish intermittently visiting the coral increased the photosysnthesis rate of Stylophora by up to 6% a day. Corals that live in symbiosis with damselfish can thus potentially grow considerably faster.
 
Tiny algae living inside the tissue of stony corals are responsible for the photosynthesis. Their products such as high-energy sugars are beneficial for the corals, allowing them to build the large calcium carbonate structures typical for tropical reefs. During the night corals take up oxygen, in the daytime they emit it during photosynthesis. If an excess of oxygen accumulates, a particular enzyme essential for photosynthesis is inhibited in its activity.
 
“By flicking its fins the damselfish improve the water circulation as well as the supply and removal of oxygen, which is extremely important in areas of low flow such as lagoons enclosed by reefs,” says Dr. Sebastian Ferse, a reef ecologist who headed the study at the ZMT.
 
The symbiosis could also have a positive effect during coral bleaching. Stressful conditions such as increased water temperatures can lead to the production of oxygen radicals by the coral, which foster bleaching. The fin flicking can aid in the removal of such radicals.
 
“However, increased overfishing could spell doom for the symbiosis”, cautions Ferse. “If damselfish predators, i.e. bigger fish, are increasingly caught, the damselfish do not need to hide among the corals any longer."
 
"The symbiotic damselfish are also popular ornamental fish and are caught for the marine aquarium trade. In the Thousand Islands archipelago near Jakarta several species have already disappeared,” says Ferse.

Publication:
Mutualistic damselfish induce higher photosynthetic rates in their host coral, Nur Garcia-Herrera, Sebastian C. A. Ferse, Andreas Kunzmann, Amatzia Genin, Journal of Experimental Biology 2017 220: 1803-1811; doi: 10.1242/jeb.152462

"Research Highlight" in Nature:
Fish boost Coral Photosynthesis

Contact

Dr. Sebastian Ferse
Phone: 
+49 (421) 23800 - 28
e-mail: 

Media contact, photo and video material

Dr. Susanne Eickhoff
Phone: 
+49 (421) 23800 - 37
e-mail: 

Red Sea dascyllus among the branches of a Stylophora coral (Photo: Nur Garcia, ZMT)

zmt Bremen

Hauptmenue:Funktionen:
Kapitelmenue:
Seiteninhalt:

18.5.17

Ventilator für Korallen: Symbiose mit Riffbarschen bringt Korallen große Vorteile für das Wachstum

Viele Steinkorallen leben in enger Gemeinschaft mit verschiedenen Arten von Riffbarschen. Riffökologen des Leibniz-Zentrums für Marine Tropenforschung (ZMT) in Bremen haben diese Symbiose jetzt genauer untersucht und einen bisher unbekannten Vorteil für die Korallen entdeckt: die Fische unterstützen sie bei der Photosynthese und fördern dadurch ihr Wachstum. Die Studie ist gestern im Journal of Experimental Biology erschienen und wurde vom Nature Magazin in seinen Forschungshighlights aufgegriffen.

Korallenriffe sind hoch komplexe Lebensgemeinschaften mit vielfältigen Wechselbeziehungen und Abhängigkeiten, die zum Teil noch gar nicht erforscht sind. Gut bekannt ist die Symbiose zwischen Clownfischen und Anemonen: die Fische liefern mit ihren Ausscheidungen wichtige Nährstoffe und finden selber Schutz vor Fraßfeinden in der Anemone.

Die gleichen Vorteile werden der Gemeinschaft zwischen Riffbarschen und verzweigten Steinkorallen zugeschrieben. Auffällig ist aber, wie unermüdlich die Barsche mit ihren Flossen fächeln, wenn sie sich zwischen den Ästen der Koralle aufhalten – und das nicht nur tagsüber, sondern auch nachts im Schlaf.

Die Ökologin Nur Garcia-Herrera und ihre Kollegen vom ZMT nahmen diese Symbiose genauer unter die Lupe. Im Roten Meer vor Eilat in Israel beobachteten sie den Rotmeer-Preussenfisch, der sich zwischen den Zweigen von Korallen der Gattung Stylophora aufhält. „Über 30% seiner Zeit verbringt der Fisch in der Steinkoralle“, beschreibt Garcia-Herrera ihre Beobachtungen, „häufig schwimmen ein Dutzend Barsche oder mehr wie eine Wolke über der fußballgroßen Koralle“.

Im Labor brachte die Forscherin die Fische und Korallen in einem Respirometer zusammen, um Atmung und Photosyntheseleistung der Koralle zu messen. Dabei stellte Garcia Erstaunliches fest: Selbst wenn nur ein einziger Preussenfisch die Koralle aufsuchte, schnellte die Photosyntheseleistung der Stylophora bis zu 6% täglich in die Höhe. Korallen, die mit Riffbarschen zusammenleben, können dadurch deutlich schneller wachsen.

Bei Steinkorallen sind es die Algen in den Polypen, die die Photosynthese betreiben. Deren Produkte, energiereiche Zucker, kommen den Korallen zugute. Dadurch können sie die für tropische Riffe typischen, riesigen Kalkstrukturen aufbauen. Während die Korallen nachts Sauerstoff zum Atmen benötigen, scheiden sie ihn tagsüber im Zuge der Photosynthese aus. Sammelt sich zu viel davon an, hemmt es die Wirkung eines für die Photosynthese wichtigen Enzyms.

„Mit seinem Fächeln sorgt der Riffbarsch für eine bessere Wasserzirkulation sowie den Zu- und Abtransport von Sauerstoff. Das ist in strömungsarmen Gewässern besonders wichtig, wie sie beispielsweise in Lagunen vorherrschen, die von Riffen umschlossen sind“, erklärt Dr. Sebastian Ferse, Riffökologe am ZMT und Leiter der Studie.

Auch in Hinblick auf Korallenbleiche könnte die Symbiose einen positiven Effekt haben, wie die ZMT-Forscher vermuten. Sind Korallen Stress ausgesetzt, entstehen bei der Photosynthese Sauerstoffradikale, die eine Bleiche fördern. Das Flossenfächeln sorgt für deren Abtransport.

„Die zunehmende Überfischung könnte dieser Symbiose jedoch zum Verhängnis werden“, warnt Ferse. „Werden die Fraßfeinde der Riffbarsche, die größeren Fische, gefangen, so besteht für die Barsche keine Notwendigkeit mehr, in den Korallen Schutz zu suchen“. Außerdem sind die symbiontischen Riffbarsche ein beliebter Zierorganismus und werden auch selbst für den Aquarienhandel befischt. „Im Thousand Islands -Archipel vor Jakarta zum Beispiel sind bestimmte Arten bereits völlig verschwunden“, berichtet Ferse.

Publikation:
Mutualistic damselfish induce higher photosynthetic rates in their host coral, Nur Garcia-Herrera, Sebastian C. A. Ferse, Andreas Kunzmann, Amatzia Genin, Journal of Experimental Biology 2017 220: 1803-1811; doi: 10.1242/jeb.152462

"Research Highlight" in Nature:
Fish boost Coral Photosynthesis

Kontakt

Dr. Sebastian Ferse
Telefon: 
+49 (421) 23800 - 28
E-Mail: 
Dr. Susanne Eickhoff
Telefon: 
+49 (421) 23800 - 37
E-Mail: 

Rotmeer-Preussenfisch in einer Koralle der Gattung Stylophora (Foto: Nur Garcia, ZMT)